The Girl Behind the Gates

Condition: New

Books From Sharon

£5.49 £8.99

1939. Seventeen-year-old Nora Jennings has spent her life secure in the certainty of a bright, happy future - until one night of passion has more catastrophic consequences than she ever could have anticipated. Labelled a moral defective and sectioned under the Mental Deficiency Act, she is forced to endure years of unspeakable cruelty at the hands of those who are supposed to care for her.

1981. 
When psychiatrist Janet Humphreys comes across Nora, heavily institutionalised and still living in the hospital more than forty years after her incarceration, she knows that she must be the one to help Nora rediscover what it is to live. But as she works to help Nora overcome her past, Janet realises she must finally face her own.

Based on a true story, The Girl Behind the Gates is perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter and Philomena.

 

  • Author - Brenda Davies
  • Series / character - n/a
  • Illustrated - No
  • Age range - Adult
  • ISBN - 9781529374544
  • Publisher - Hodder
  • Date - 2020
  • Format - Paperback
  • Approx. size - 20 x 13 cm
  • Weight - 255g
  • No. of pages - 340
  • RRP - £8.99

 

Awards: n/a